Thursday, January 20, 2011

Blog Assignment 1

    I was born in Mobile, AL.  I graduated from Murphy High School. After high school, I attended Jacksonville State University where my major was elementary education. After completing my sophomore year at Jacksonville State, I decided I wanted to move back home. I began attending South Alabama in the fall of 2010. This is my second semester at South. My major is now physical education. I want to be in the education field because I want to help children know what they are capable of and encourage and influence them in any way that I can.
   I come from a huge family. I am one of six children in my family. I have a twin sister, three older sisters, and a younger brother. Family is very important to me and we are all very close. When we get together there is never a boring moment!
   I am currently working at Cleveland the Florist. Whenever I'm not in class, I'm usually at work. For the most part, I love it! Since my free time is limited, I must workout in the mornings. My workouts are usually a long run or a spin class. Any extra free time that I have, I spend it outside! I love being outdoors and being active. I love the beach, surfing, kayaking, biking, running, pretty much anything outside!


  1. Why did you change your major from elementry education to physical education? Im also a physical education major wanting to become a coach. What is the a spin class workout.

  2. This comment has been removed by the author.

  3. This comment has been removed by the author.

  4. I also went away to college and wanted to move home. Thats why I'm at south this year as well. I love doing outdoor things too. I love anything that has to do with the water! When and where did you learn how to surf?

  5. Hey Mary Ashley,

    I noticed your comment on Dustin's blog. I see that you would like to coach soccer at some point. I would also love to coach and teach. I have played soccer since I was 5, and I played my first 2 years at a community college. I was going to play at an university, but I ended up tearing my ACL. I just play intramurals at South now. What about you?

    I also love being outdoors, and I bike, kayak, and wakeboard as well. I have never tried to surf, but I would love to. Do you do any snow sports, like skiing?

  6. Yeah, we do have similar stories, and I'm sorry you tore your meniscus. I have only skied twice, but I have never tried snowboarding. I really want to try, but I don't have many chances since it doesn't snow here. :)

  7. Hey Mary Ashley,

    Wow, I bet you had a house full when you and all of your siblings where living under the same roof! I am like Dustin, What is a spin class?

    Good luck this semester,

    Stephen Akins

  8. Hi Mary Ashley,
    I also love my family and spend almost every moment I have with them. I also went off to faulkner state before south but I am back home now as well. Have a great semester :)